A day without digital technology!

After my recent blog post Good Tech vs Bad Tech created a mixed message to my readers regarding my opinion about Pokemon Go, it had me thinking about what I wrote, how I wrote it and the message that I really was trying to get out there. Thanks to Jess and Mel for their insights and further opinion in relation to my blog. It was interesting to learn more about Pokémon Go from Mel, and it’s versatility when used practically, and it’s great to see families getting involved together.  I chose to use Pokémon Go as the example of bad tech as it is the latest craze and my experience with people around me playing it has not been positive. I was not trying to just put those who play it down, heck half my friends are playing it. I primarily was just stating some of my own observations and why I think it is an example of bad tech vs good tech in our forever evolving world of technology. I also stated my obsession with Instagram and shared a link to my public account. I too believe it’s unhealthy and an example of bad tech vs good tech- but actually it’s not that these apps are solely bad tech- it’s how they are being used that makes them bad tech perhaps?

It had me thinking about a challenge that was given to us during week one of our ICT and Pedagogy course- can we go a day without technology? Course Examiner David provoked my thought process with these following questions…

  • Imagine there was a mythical event that caused all ICT to stop work. All of the devices and objects that rely on digital technologies no longer worked.
  • Think of what you’ve done so far today. How much of what you’ve done today would you still be able to do with no ICT?
  • Think about the last time you were on Professional Experience. Pick a day. How much of what your learners did that day would they still be able to do with no ICT?

Now, previously I have powered down at certain hours to try and get better sleep, or more productivity. I have also disconnected from social media for days, even weeks on end- but I haven’t gone a whole day without technology. Earlier this year I was without a mobile phone for 48 hours, and found this extremely challenging- but I still had my iPad and computer. So what will happen without any of this for a whole 24 hours?

Follow my blog to find out as I plan to tech-down for a whole day on Saturday 6th August (I know, on the weekend right?) Does anyone want to join me? Make your pledge below in the comments and share your story via a diary entry (blog) on Sunday 7th August. In the meantime, here is an article that I came across from Ree’s blog recently.

Happy Monday all 🙂

One thought on “A day without digital technology!

Leave a comment