Go Offline & Be Inspired

Recently I pledged to go offline for 24 hours, that’s right, no technology for an entire day. Ai, ai, ai what was I thinking? In preparing for going offline (that’s right, I needed to prepare for this), I have realised that I have decided to do this at a very cruicial time, two days before an ICT assessment is due. So today, a freak out! I’ve not yet finished the assignment and I have the capacity to do the assignment in some down time tomorrow. So today I am madly preparing everything I need to complete as much of this assessment offline tomorrow, and that way all I will have to do Sunday is data enter what I have done offline, right? Well let’s hope so.

But I also have been thinking recently, over the last week, how often I rely on technology- whether it be purchases made by EFTPOS, using my Navman in the car, relying on my GoCard for public transport and the list goes on an on. I have had to plan out my day, this even means notifying the important people in my life that I am going offline for the day, they won’t be able to contact me (just so they don’t worry). But what if we had no warning? What if technology on the day didn’t work? Food for thought, it’s important to be organised and have back up plans. Kel mentiones this in her recent blog, after attending an ICT professional experience and then talking to a teacher about the things that can go wrong with technology, sometimes we can not be prepared, like I am preparing myself to go offline tomorrow- I know I won’t have technology, so I am planning around this.

Tomorrow I am planning to use my Go Offline & Be Inspired book that was gifted to me by my friend Kim when I left my last job (to become a full-time uni student). Such a thoughtful gift, and until now, I haven’t had the chance to use it (received in March). I am looking forward to starting the 30 day challenge that is a part of this book from Kikki K.

So far this week (day 5) I have gone without alcohol and coffee, I have a habit of setting myself these challenges, but sometimes all the body needs is a good detox. Well tomorrow, as I tech down, I am sure my mind, body and soul will thank me for it- or will it? Will I be more stressed? We will soon find out, I am keeping a diary of my day and will update you all via my blog on Sunday. I am even meeting a friend in the city tomorrow to see the Queensland Firebirds Ticketape Parade– which all details will need to be discussed with her prior as I will not have my phone with me.

Stay tuned…

Leave a comment